Student Government Election 2020 Voting Expanded to April 14-16

President and VP Candidates Announced

Posted April 1, 2020; Revised April 2, 2020


Students will now have three days to cast their votes in this month’s Student Government elections at Minnesota State Mankato.

Despite classes continuing remotely for the remainder of the semester, the Spring 2020 Election for Student Government positions will proceed. Online voting is expanded from Tuesday, April 14, to Thursday, April 16. Polling will open Tuesday at 8 a.m and close to Thursday at 6 p.m.

Website for voting

The filing deadline was March 31 for candidates for Student Government President and Vice President.

Candidates running for president and vice president are:

  • Empowering Mavericks party – Presidential candidate: Andrew Trenne; Vice President candidate: Arnavee Maltare
  • Maverick Movement party – Presidential candidate: Dhaval Bhakta; Vice President candidate: Marilyn Allen

The filing deadline for candidates for all other positions is midnight the evening of Tuesday, April 7.

An updated election timeline and amended election rules have been posted on the Student Government Engage page, and the Student Government’s “Get Involved” website. 

Required in-person rules readings are being waived, but candidates and applicants are expected to access and read the rules. They will be in effect and enforced.

A rules meeting can still be requested by contacting Chief Election Commissioner Hunter Brings at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *